Capturing and analyzing segmented data using Agilent oscilloscopes

MATLAB example for initiating a segmented mode acquisition and displaying the averaged waveform
Updated Tue, 14 Jul 2009 09:25:52 +0000

View License

MATLAB is a software environment and programming language with over 1,000,000 users. MATLAB extends the functionality of Agilent oscilloscopes by enabling you to analyze and visualize live or acquired oscilloscope signals, make application-specific measurements, create and apply your own filters and equalization methods, and automate tests.

This example shows you how you can use MATLAB to control an Agilent oscilloscope, capture N segments of data, and average each of those segments together. The user can customize the code to allow for different segment counts, segment sizes, sample rates, etc. MATLAB will average the segments together before displaying the final averaged waveform in MATLAB. The user can also uncomment two lines in the code (which are specified) in order to have the averaged plot be displayed as segments are being processed.

To execute this example, type ‘Segmented_Averaging’ in the MATLAB command window. Note: Change the IP address in the Segemented_Averaging.m file to the IP address of the signal source.

This MATLAB example has been tested on an Agilent DSO91304A Infiniium oscilloscope but should work on most Agilent InfiniiVision 5000, 6000, and 7000 Series as well as the Infiniium 9000 and 90000 Series oscilloscopes.

To learn more about using or purchasing MATLAB with Agilent oscilloscopes, visit:

To request your free trial of MATLAB and/or Instrument Control Toolbox, visit

Cite As

Jeff Schuch (2024). Capturing and analyzing segmented data using Agilent oscilloscopes (, MATLAB Central File Exchange. Retrieved .

MATLAB Release Compatibility
Created with R2008b
Compatible with any release
Platform Compatibility
Windows macOS Linux

Community Treasure Hunt

Find the treasures in MATLAB Central and discover how the community can help you!

Start Hunting!
Version Published Release Notes